Past events archive

2016

Wednesday 3rd February 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 20th February 2016 Lecture: Settlement and Monumentality in the Avebury Landscape by Josh Pollard

Wednesday 2nd March 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 19th March 2016 Lecture: Winchester – A City in the Making by Ben Ford

Saturday 2nd April 2016 Annual Conference: Berkshire Archaeological Society’s Annual Conference in Newbury

Wednesday 6th April 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 16th April 2016 Lecture: One thing leads to another: from Insula IX to Insula III and the recovery of early Roman Calleva by Prof Michael Fulford

6th to 9th May 2016 Spring Tour: Cornwall

Wednesday 1st June 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Tuesday 14th June 2016: Visit to West Stow Anglo-Saxon Village

Wednesday 3rd August 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: No formal meeting this month but instead an informal gathering in the RISC cafe from 14:00 for anyone who would like to join us.

Saturday 27th August – Visit to Silchester, Insula III

Wednesday 7th September 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 17th  September 2016 BAS AGM & Lecture: Timber buildings: how earlier buildings may be concealed behind later remodelling by Henry Russell

Wednesday 5th October 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: Meeting CANCELLED

Saturday 15th October 2016 Lecture: Men as Gods: Ancient Maya Kingship by Dr Diane Davies

Saturday 22nd October 2016  Berkshire Historic Environment Day School – The Barn, Beech Road, Purley on Thames RG8 8DR
10:00 to 16:30

Wednesday 2nd November 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 19th November 2016 Lecture: A Causewayed Enclosure and later discoveries at Thame, Oxfordshire by Ken Walsh

Wednesday 7th December 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 10th December 2016 Lecture: Four talks by BAS members

2017

Wednesday 5th January 2017 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 21st January 2017  Lecture: How did they make those beautiful things: Archaeological evidence for metal working in Roman Britain by Dr Justine Bayley

Wednesday 1st February 2017 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 18th February 2017 Lecture: Putting Berkshire on the map: from Gough to Google by John Leighfield CBE

Wednesday 1st March 2017 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 4th March 2017 Day School: Berkshire Archaeological Society’s Annual Conference

Saturday 18th March 2017 Lecture: The Portable Antiquities Scheme and the Watlington Viking Hoard by David Williams

Wednesday 5th April 2017 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 8th April 2017 Lecture: Beyond London’s Walls: Recent excavations at the site of the Crossrail Broadgate Ticket Hall by Robert Hartle

21st–24th April  2017 Spring Tour: Norfolk & area

Wednesday 3rd May 2017 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Wednesday 7th June 2017 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Wednesday 5th July 2017 – Visit: Stonor Park

Thursday July 13th 2017 – Visit: Wessex Archaeology & Marden Henge

Saturday 2nd September 2017- Visit:  Silchester temples and Roman Tilery at Little London

Saturday 16th September 2017 BAS AGM & Lecture:  Wittenham Clumps and the context of power by Adam McBride

Saturday 21st October 2017 Lecture: Shakespeare’s London Theatre Land by Julian Bowsher

Wednesday 1st November 2017 – Anglo-Saxon Study Group 2-4pm RISC

Saturday 18th November 2017 Lecture: My Work as a Dendrochronologist by Martin Bridge

Wednesday 6th December – BAS Study Group 2-4pm RISC

Saturday 9th December 2017 Lectures by BAS Members: 
European Cave Art by Tim Lloyd
RB pipe clay figurines by Mathew Fittock
Roman corn mill, Provence by Andrew Hutt