Events Programme

2016

Wednesday 3rd February 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 20th February 2016 Lecture: Settlement and Monumentality in the Avebury Landscape by Josh Pollard

Wednesday 2nd March 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 19th March 2016 Lecture: Winchester – A City in the Making by Ben Ford

Saturday 2nd April 2016 Annual Conference: Berkshire Archaeological Society’s Annual Conference in Newbury

Wednesday 6th April 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 16th April 2016 Lecture: One thing leads to another: from Insula IX to Insula III and the recovery of early Roman Calleva by Prof Michael Fulford (this is a change to the previously advertised programme)

6th to 9th May 2016 Spring Tour: Cornwall

Wednesday 1st June 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

SUMMER VISITS – check back for further announcements

Tuesday 14th June 2016: Visit to West Stow Anglo-Saxon Village

Wednesday 3rd August 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: No formal meeting this month but instead an informal gathering in the RISC cafe from 14:00 for anyone who would like to join us.

Saturday 27th August – Visit to Silchester, Insula III

Wednesday 7th September 2016 Anglo-Saxon Discussion Group: RISC Conference room 3, 14:00 to 16:00

Saturday 17th  September 2016 BAS AGM & Lecture: Timber buildings: how earlier buildings may be concealed behind later remodelling by Henry Russell

Saturday 15th October 2016 Lecture: The Ancient Maya: Fact and fantasy by Dr Diane Davies

Saturday 22nd October 2016  Berkshire Historic Environment Day School – The Barn, Beech Road, Purley on Thames RG8 8DR
10:00 to 16:30

Saturday 19th November 2016 Lecture: A Causeway Enclosure and later discoveries at Thame, Oxfordshire by Ken Walsh

Saturday 10th December 2016 Lecture: The Neolithic by Janet Ridout Sharpe and Anne Harrison. Crusader Castles in Israel by John Sargent

2017

Saturday 21st January 2017  Lecture: How did they make those beautiful things: Archaeological evidence for metal working in Roman Britain by Dr Justine Bayley

Saturday 18th February 2017 Lecture: Putting Berkshire on the map: from Gough to Google by John Leighfield CBE

Saturday 18th March 2017 Lecture: The Portable Antiquities Scheme and the Watlington Viking Hoard by David Williams

Saturday 8th April 2017 Lecture: Beyond London’s Walls: Recent excavations at the site of the Crossrail Broadgate Ticket Hall by Robert Hartle

21st–24th April  2017 Spring Tour: Norfolk & area. Now booking

 Berkshire Archaeology Society’s Monthly Saturday afternoon talks held at 2.00 pm for 2.30 pm at The RISC Centre, London Street. Reading, RG1 4PS. (01189 586692)

Google map reference