Events Programme

Venues – Unless advised otherwise: 

BAS Finds Group (in person only) and BAS Study Group (in person and on Zoom) – Woosehill Community Centre, Woosehill Court, Emmview Close, Wokingham, RG41 3DA.  

BAS Lunches – The Wheelwright’s Arms, Davis Way, Hurst, Reading, RG10 0TR.  If you want to come to the lunch, please notify Keith Abbott by the Saturday before the lunch.

Saturday lectures – RISC, London St, Reading, RG1 4PS with refreshments from 2pm.  Lectures start at 2:30pm and are live streamed on Zoom.  Google map reference

Non-members are welcome to attend lectures.  If wishing to attend on Zoom, they need to email lectures(at)berksarch.co.uk by the end of the Wednesday before the lecture.  

All meeting Zoom links are emailed in advance and the Zoom session opens 10-15 minutes before the meeting.

2024

Tuesday 2nd January 2024 BAS Finds Group 7:30pm

Wednesday 3rd January 2024 BAS Study Wednesday 3rd January 2024 – BAS Study GroupGroup 2:30pm

Wednesday 17th January 2024 BAS Lunch 12 noon

Saturday 20th January 2024 BAS Lecture: Who we are and where do we come from? by Francis Taylor

Tuesday 6th February 2024 BAS Finds Group 7:30pm 

Wednesday 7th February 2024 BAS Study Group 2:30pm 

Wednesday 14th February 2024 BAS Lunch 12 noon 

Saturday 17th February 2024 BAS Lecture: The Silchester Environs Project by Professor Michael Fulford, University of Reading

Tuesday 5th March 2024 BAS Finds Group 7:30pm

Wednesday 6th March 2024 BAS Study Group 2:30pm 

Wednesday 13th March 2024 BAS Lunch 12 noon

Saturday 16th March 2024 BAS Lecture: Iron-ing it Out, Nail-ing it Down: A new multi-period methodology and typology for recording structural iron nails by Katie Manby, Doctoral Candidate, University of Reading

Wednesday 10th April 2024 BAS Lunch 12 noon

Wednesday 17th April 2024 BAS Visit  A guided tour by Professor Michael Fulford of the exhibition, ‘Becoming Roman – Silchester a Town of Change’ at the Willis Museum and Sainsbury Gallery, Market Place, Basingstoke, RG21 7QD

Tuesday 30th April 2024 BAS Finds Group 7:30pm

Wednesday 1st May 2024 BAS Study Group 2:30pm 

Wednesday 8th May 2024 BAS Lunch – CANCELLED

Tuesday 4th June 2024 BAS Finds Group REPLACED BY STUDY GROUP

Tuesday 4th June 2024 BAS Study Group 7:30pm MOVED FROM WEDNESDAY

Wednesday 5th June 2024 BAS Study Group 2:30pm CANCELLED (Sorry – the BAS Council need the room for a committee meeting)

Monday 10th June 2024 BAS Visit to Villa Ventorum

SUMMER BREAK

Wednesday 12th June 2024 BAS Lunch 12 noon

Tuesday 3rd September 2024 BAS Finds Group 7:30pm

Wednesday 4th September 2024 BAS Study Group 2:30pm

Wednesday 11th September 2024 BAS Lunch 12 noon

Saturday 21st September BAS Lecture: PAS in Berkshire 2023-2024 by Phil Smithers, Finds Laison Officer. West Berkshire

Tuesday 1st October 2024 BAS Finds Group 7:30pm

Wednesday 2nd September 2024 BAS Study Group 2:30pm

Saturday 5th October 2024 BAS Day School St Nicolas’ Church Hall, Newbury, RG14 5HG, 10.00am to 5.00pm

Wednesday 9th October 2024 BAS Lunch 12 noon

Saturday 19th October BAS AGM & Lecture: Dr Brian Hope-Taylor and the investigation of timber halls in northern Bernicia – an evolving story. by Professor Ian Ralston, University of Edinburgh

Saturday 16th November BAS Lecture: TBA

Saturday 14th December BAS Lecture: TBA

Past events archive

Exploring the archaeology, history and heritage of Berkshire